Stopping World Hunger

I think that volunteering and giving back to the community is an important part of being a responsible citizen, not just because it looks good on a college application or resume. I genuinely love to know that what I’m doing is making another person out there smile. One of the best local organizations is WHEAT (World Hunger Education, Advocacy, and Training).

The mission of WHEAT is to bring people in developing countries food, shelter, and confidence through fair trade. WHEAT does not just provide one time assistance. People in developing countries are taught how to make environmentally friendly products using materials around them. These products are then sold in the WHEAT store and 90% of the profits go back to those in need. Also, WHEAT has a clothing shop in Phoenix that helps outfit women with new clothes so that they can get jobs without having to worry about buying new outfits. The WHEAT facility offers career training for young men and women as well.

I love volunteering here because I know that I can actually help people directly,and there is a wonderful sense of community that I think everyone should be able to experience. If I can help out even subtly, that’s good enough for me. Visit WHEAT’s website at www.hungerhurts.org to learn more.

 

Leave a Reply

