A Teenager Movie Review: Take Me Home (2011)

Take Me Home (2011)

Take Me Home (2011)

As I sleep, vacation, and bore my way through this summer, one of my main activities has been watching movies. I guess you could say I’m into the indie scene of things, namely the music and films. Indie films are what I enjoy the most, so why not review one?

I had been lying lifelessly on my couch at about midnight last night when I came across an interesting looking title on Netflix. It was Take Me Home. I read the description and thought, alright let’s try this.

The movie started out in New York (big shocker). We get a glimpse into the life of Dan Reeves, a man who illegally drives a taxicab to earn enough money to survive. Then we see businesswoman Claire go through an average day in her life, only to come home to what she thinks is her husband cheating on her. At her job the next day, Claire, still upset over her husband, gets a call from her eccentric mother about her father. He has suffered a heart attack and is in the hospital in California. Claire, falling apart, leaves work and takes the first cab available. And can you guess whose cab it is? Yes Captain Obvious, Dan’s cab. Once in the cab, Claire tells Dan to just drive. He sees she’s hurting and does just that, because he secretly has his own worries to escape from.

Through this these two strangers embark on their seemingly endless journey to California, learning about each other along the way. They face so many hardships, one after another. I really appreciated how we can see the relationship between Thom and Claire evolve into something more, yet there is no need for a big romance scene. This is one of the cutest movies I’ve seen in awhile. The main characters are actually a couple in real life, which I find so amazing because you’d never know.

I’d better stop, because I’ve already told you to much! You’ll just have to watch it yourself. I assure you, this movie is worth your time. So get watching!

One thought on “A Teenager Movie Review: Take Me Home (2011)

Leave a Reply

