National Security

As I’ll be flying out to San Diego this weekend, I thought I’d take a moment to reflect on my opinion of this nation’s national security. I’m sure you’ve seen all those YouTube of the TSA making little children cry. While that’s a bit exaggerated, I still think some of our policies are ridiculous.

For instance, you are now allowed to bring a small pocketknife aboard a plane. Now, why was this banned a few months ago but suddenly allowed now? I have no answer for that, except for the paranoia characteristic of human beings. After the 9/11 attacks, we were so very cautious. As a matter of fact, many of us were already afraid of flying on a plane, so why not scare ourselves by worrying about what could happen on a plane?

I’m not saying our security is bad, but an attack could happen anywhere. And I mean anywhere. Something happened on a plane, therefore we got our privacy taken anyway. Something happened at a school, therefore our gun rights were limited. There was a bomb in a backpack, therefore any backpack left by itself is suspicious. 

In my opinion, while we are busy upping security in one area, is this really going to help? I think that people are smart enough not to strike in the same place and situation more than once. I see the concern the government has about acts of terrorism, and that’s all good and well. But remember, “It’s not guns that kill people, it’s stupid people that kill people.”

Leave a Reply

