10 Songs That Inspire Me to Get Out of Bed

Often times I have a day (or multiple days) where I find it near impossible to roll out of bed, throw on some clothes, and get out the door. I just want to smash my alarm clock to bits, settle into my covers, and shut out the world via my bedroom door.This is an experience we can all relate to. If you say you haven’t, you’re either a terrible liar or have one heck of an easy life. What do I do to get myself to function, one might ask? Well, being the music lover that I am, I simply jam out to some tunes. Here are some songs that inspire me to face the world:

  1. “Try” by P!nk.                                                                                                              I’ve never been a big fan of popular music nor do I support the industry, but I can’t deny that this song speaks to me. A line that stands out to me is when she says, “Just because it burns doesn’t mean you’re gonna die, you gotta get up and try.” Basically the message is that even though it hurts and life’s got you down right now, it will not kill you. You are strong enough to overcome any problem with belief in yourself. You might get knocked down over and over again, but that doesn’t mean you should just sit there on the ground and let that be the end of you. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107859437496/
  2. “Rubber Ball” by Cage The Elephant                                                                           One band that I have always looked up to in times of doubt is Cage The Elephant. They are a huge part of my life and I owe them a thank you for helping me through everything, even when I couldn’t help myself. Rubber Ball is about the lead singer, Matt Shultz. He is at a low point in his life when he realizes that he can’t be all he imagines himself to be. He tries to stand tall and be a tough male figure, yet he still feels like he’s failure at that. He’s admitting to himself that he’s not all that he tells himself he is. He says, “All I’ve got is nothing but a little bit of love, gonna give it to the people and they’ll see.” Everyone has love to give, no matter their story or point in life. Just by showing even a little amount of love to others, they will take notice. In other words, showing a little appreciation can go a long way. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107858856696/
  3. “Anchor Down” (acoustic version) by Real Friends                                                    Real Friends is my current band obsession, among many. A supposedly “emo” band, their lyrics are thoughtful and not to mention I love their name. In this particular song, the singer tells you to, “Anchor down your feet and say, f**k the past and everyone who dragged you here.” What I get out of this is that if you don’t like your past or the people in it, you can let it all go. What’s happened has happened and you need to live in the present and plan for the future. Drop your regrets because they are just extra weight you carry around. To be honest I actually do say this to myself sometimes when I’m upset. If I’m home alone and you were to crouch outside my bedroom window, you’d likely hear me shout, “F**k the past and everyone who dragged me here!”. Doing this really does make me feel better on difficult days. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107858892077/
  4. “Float On” by Modest Mouse                                                                                       “Float On” is one of the oldest songs on my iPod, It’s been with me ever since the beginning of 7th grade. It’s calming like a hot cup of tea and I listen to it when all else fails. I am in love with the line that goes, “Now don’t you worry we’ll all float on.” In a nutshell, don’t concern yourself about the events of tomorrow. Life will keep flowing on as it always has and you’ll be just fine. I think this is a lovely message. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107858489513/
  5. “You Are A Tourist” by Death Cab For Cutie                                                                The whole reason I tried this band was because of the name. When you read the words “Death Cab” you’re thinking, oh, this is going to be some pretty morbid stuff. Then you see “For Cutie” and you think of some adorable folk band who’s known for their positivity. The name “Death Cab For Cutie” just leaves you with this bittersweet feeling when you hear it. “When there’s a doubt within your mind/Because you’re thinking all the time/Framing rights into wrongs/Move along, move along/When there’s a doubt within your mind” are my favorite lyrics of the song. When you’re having one of those moments when you think too much and begin to doubt yourself, you need to trust that you’re making the best decision for you. No one else can control you, and you know what’s best for yourself. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107858864560/
  6. “Gig Life” by The World Is A Beautiful Place & I Am No Longer Afraid To Die         This is an up-and-coming band that I enjoy very much, more specifically their acoustics. You must hear and feel their music in order to understand. My favorite lyrics of “Gig Life” are, “Cause you’ll be home soon but I won’t wait for you. This is gig life.” This pretty much says that if you’re waiting around for someone who is not worth your time or effort, you’re just going to have to move on. Unfortunately, that’s how things are sometimes. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107859457534/
  7. “Bright Idea” by Mother Mother                                                                                  I can tell you that this is about the happiest song I ever listen to. You may recognize it from the Kraft cheese commercial. This is good mood music, nothing negative to it. The lyrics that stand out to me the most are, “I built my life around a bright idea; I built my life around the love that I’ve found.” Basically, use the positive ideas that you have to better your life. They can be found in even the simplest of places. Also, fill your life with things you love rather than things you hate. http://www.metrolyrics.com/bright-idea-lyrics-mother-mother.html
  8. “It’s Alright” by Matt & Kim                                                                                          I think that Matt and Kim are cutest couple/band I have ever seen. Their music is just downright lovely. It always puts a smile on my face. I hope I don’t need to explain this one! The idea of this song is: you got it, everything is alright! Why look down when you can look up? http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107859441634/
  9. “Demons” by Imagine Dragons                                                                                    I find it sad that Imagine Dragons went mainstream so fast. I barely had time to enjoy them before their songs were obnoxiously overplayed on the radio. Regardless, “Demons” will always have a place in my heart as a special song. “Now matter what we breed, we still are made of greed,” According to me, this means that no matter how much we try to change ourselves, we are human and can get controlled by greed. But this doesn’t mean that we’re doomed, greed is something we can all work around. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107859429861/
  10. “Houdini” By Foster The People                                                                                  I think Foster The People needs to be recognized for more than just “Pumped Up Kicks”. They have so much more than what’s being played on the radio. This song is my life. Mark Foster says, “Gotta focus on your ability/Focus on your ability/Then they can’t get what they want to steal” He means, if you ask me, that you need to focus on what you love and who you want to be, no matter what other people think of you. You can’t go wrong if you follow your heart and practice your talents. http://songmeanings.com/songs/view/3530822107858862565/
Leave a Reply

