I Give Up, Guitar Is Stupid

Ever since eighth grade I’ve longed to play guitar. It was my one goal in life. Music pretty much saved my life, it still does. If you love music, you know what I’m talking about. You turn it up as loud as it will go and it drowns out your thoughts. You are one with the music. I wanted to be a part of that. When my birthday came around, I received a shiny acoustic guitar. Whenever I was around it, it had this aura that made me want to pick it up and play to my heart’s content.

My problem, however, is my lack of patience. I could play for an hour of two and not get any better. The frustrated me. Everyday I played less and less until I didn’t play at all. I, like many people, believed that one needed said “natural talent” in order to play. According to me, I just didn’t cut it. So I gave up. It didn’t help by the fact that I was teaching myself.

So in the months after that my guitar sat collecting dust in the corner. I would glance at it occasionally, but then forget quickly because I didn’t have the time. Did I believe in myself that I could achieve my dream? Not at all. Since I considered playing guitar to be one of my dreams, I though I would have to postpone it for when there was time. I told myself I would never be good enough.

Lately, I’ve been reading this book called Unthink by Erik Wahl. It’s a fascinating book about unlocking your creative genius you had as a child and lost as you grew up. He says of creativity, “later means never”. In other words, if you aren’t creative now you never will be. This sparked the thought in my brain that if I didn’t learn guitar when I wanted to and kept saying I’d do it later, I never would do it. This gave me the courage to try again with guitar and so far I have been practicing daily. I really want this to go somewhere.

4 thoughts on “I Give Up, Guitar Is Stupid

  1. Later means never? I haven’t read the book, so you’re the expert on it, but I think that just by being creative now, you’re OK. You write. You play guitar even thought it’s not feeling good. You’re OK. I can use my life as an example. I first picked up the guitar in high school and I was horrible. I couldn’t play anything I wanted to play. I was far beneath my standards of what I should be. In a year or two, I dropped it. Later on (I’d rather not say how much), my need to be perfect faded and I picked the guitar up again. I still don’t sound great (usually, I sound OK), but, with the early foundation and the willingness to have fun while sounding horrid, I’m actually getting noticeably better. A true guitar player wouldn’t say so, but I’m good enough to fool non-players. That’s tons better than I could have been when I started and it’s a blast now.

    Btw, the 15 minutes advice is great. Have fun!

    • Thank you, I think you understand where I’m coming from. I’m kind of a perfectionist and think I need to be good at as many things as possible. It’s a bit overwhelming so I’ve tried to choose between activities I want to do outside of school. It’s a difficult choice. Thanks for the advice!

Leave a Reply

